Kolten Wong Wins Gold Glove

Image for Kolten Wong Wins Gold Glove

St. Louis Cardinals Second Baseman Kolten Wong received his first-ever Gold Glove. The runners up for the award were Atlanta Braves Ozzie Albies and Adam Frazier of the Pittsburgh Pirates. Both had great years and will see more Gold Glove nominations throughout their career. This year the edge went to Wong as he recorded 103 double plays with nine errors. It could be argued Albies had a better year due to him having 117 double plays with four errors. However, Wong did record more assists at 412 to Albies 384. The one thing no one is arguing is Albies will win a Gold Glove sometime in his bright career.

Cardinals Only Get One

The St. Louis Cardinals had six nominees for gold glove awards this season, but only Wong came out as a finalist. The three-time Gold Glove winner Paul Goldschmidt was a finalist this year at first base; however, the Chicago Cubs Anthony Rizzo won his third Gold Glove. Shortstop Paul DeJong had the chance to get his first Gold Glove, but Nick Ahmed won his second Gold Glove in a row. Outfielder Lorenzo Cain won his first Gold Glove beating out the Cardinals Harrison Bader and the World Series Champion Victor Robles. Jack Flaherty fell to Zack Greinke, as he won his 6th Gold Glove in a row.

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina walks to the dugout after accepting his Rawlings Gold Glove and Platinum Glove awards for his defensive skills during the 2015 season before a game against the Cincinnati Reds at Busch Stadium in St. Louis on April 17, 2016. Photo by Bill Greenblatt/UPI

The most disappointment to Cardinal Nation would be Yadier Molina. Yadi missed out on his 10th Gold Glove, which would have tied Reds Hall of Famer Johnny Bench. Bench has the most Gold Gloves by a catcher in the NL. Instead of Yadi tying the record, J.T. Realmuto won his first Gold Glove. Some could see this as the proverbial passing of the torch.

Full List Of Winners


AL: Matt Olson, OAK

NL: Anthony Rizzo, CHC


AL: Yolmer Sánchez, CWS

NL: Kolten Wong, STL


AL: Francisco Lindor, CLE

NL: Nick Ahmed, ARI


AL: Matt Chapman, OAK

NL: Nolan Arenado, COL


AL: Alex Gordon, KC

NL: David Peralta, ARI


AL: Kevin Kiermaier, TB

NL: Lorenzo Cain, MIL


AL: Mookie Betts, BOS

Nl: Cody Bellinger, LAD


AL: Roberto Pérez, CLE

NL: J.T. Realmuto, PHI


AL: Mike Leake SEA/ARI

NL: Zack Greinke ARI/HOU

ToughTalkDerrick is a Sports Writer for Overtime Heroics.

Come discuss this and much more at the Overtime Heroics forums!

Check out our partners at Shoreline Sportsbook for all of your sport betting needs! Use promo code OTHGambling when you sign up and get your deposit matched 100% up to $500.

Share this article