What to Watch: November 30

0
249
Frampton

Frampton

Join me as I break down which of the week’s televised fights are most interesting and why.

Saturday, November 30

9:00am/12:00pm PT – DAZN

Alexander Besputin (13-0, 9 KOs) vs Radzhab Butaev (12-0, 9 KOs) – 12 rounds, welterweight;

Cecilia Braekhus (35-0, 9 KOs) vs. Victoria Bustos (19-5) – 10 rounds, WBC/WBA/IBF/WBO World Welterweight Titles

Undisputed female welterweight World Champion Braekhus fights this Saturday, in what really should be the headlining bout of the card. Braekhus hasn’t always fought the toughest opposition (she hasn’t faced former world champion and #1 ranked contender Layla McCarter, a fight that fans have wanted to see for years). Still, she is the unified, undisputed world champion and has been for five years. It’s no small accomplishment.

11:00am PT/2:00pm ET – ESPN+

Zolani Tete (28-3, 21 KOs) vs. John Reil Casimero (28-4, 19 KOs) – 12 rounds, WBO World Bantamweight Title

3:30pm PT/6:30pm ET – ESPN+

Valdez vs. Gutierrez prelims

7:00pm PT/10:00pm ET – ESPN+

Oscar Valdez (26-0, 20 KOs) vs. Adam Lopez (13-1, 6 KOs) – 10 rounds, super featherweight;

Carl Frampton (26-2, 15 KOs) vs. Tyler McCreary (16-0-1, 7 KOs) – 10 rounds, super featherweight 

Valdez’s original opponent Andres Gutierrez missed weight by an exorbitant 11 pounds (the fight was contracted at 130 pounds; Gutierrez weighed 141). Lopez stepped in on Friday.

The more interesting fight is former world champion Frampton taking on undefeated and talented McCreary at a 128-pound catchweight (so it’s effectively a super featherweight bout). 32-year-old Frampton may be on the downslide in his career, but he’s still a top-shelf fighter who will undoubtedly be the toughest challenge of McCreary’s professional career. Still, McCreary is a fresh 26 years old with only 17 fights under his belt. That freshness could be a flaw as well as a benefit, though–we’ll see on Saturday whether McCreary has the experience necessary to defeat an old hand like Frampton. 


Follow me on Twitter at @carynatate, and follow us @OTHeroics1 for more great content!

Also, be sure to check out the Overtime Heroics Forums page to join in on the discussion!

Head over to our shop if you are interested in purchasing some Overtime Heroics gear!


November 30

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here