NFC Championship

Packers vs 49ers helmets

Super Bowl Sunday is just two weeks away. Before we get there, we must crown an NFC Champion. The winner of the NFC Championship game takes home the George Halas trophy. Like the AFC Championship, this game features a rematch that we saw earlier in the season. The Green Bay Packers travel to Santa Clara, California to take on the San Francisco 49ers. The Packers are making their first championship game appearance since 2016, while the 49ers are in their first championship game since 2013. It has been a while since either team played in the Super Bowl. After Sunday, one of these teams will have a chance to win their first Super Bowl in quite some time.

Green Bay Packers

The Packers found their way into the NFC playoffs as a two seed. Green Bay finished the year with a 13-3 record. Becoming the two seed resulted in the Packers getting a first-round bye. Green Bay played host to the Seattle Seahawks last week in the divisional round. The Packers jumped out to a 21-3 lead and ultimately won the game 28-23. Green Bay got two passing touchdowns from quarterback Aaron Rodgers and got two rushing touchdowns from running back, Aaron Jones. On their final drive, the Packers faced a third down with less than 2:00 minutes remaining. Rodgers completed a pass to Jimmy Graham that barely got enough for the first down. With the first down and the Seahawks out of timeouts, the Packers won the game. It has been nine years since the Lombardi Trophy came home to Green Bay. The Packers hope to trade in a trip to California for a trip to Miami and a berth in Super Bowl 54.

Image result for nfc championship
Photo courtesy of

San Francisco 49ers

The 49ers were finally able to put a full season together under head coach Kyle Shanahan. Coach Shanahan was able to get his franchise quarterback, Jimmy Garoppolo, from New England during the 2017 season. Garoppolo proceeded to finish the season 5-0 as a starter. The following year, injury struck Garoppolo and the 49ers. As a result of Garoppolo’s injury, San Francisco finished 2018 4-12. 2019, however, was a whole new story. The 49ers concluded the season 13-3 and earned the number one seed.

Image result for nfc championship
Photo courtesy of

Similarly to the Packers, the 49ers were home for wild card weekend and did not have to play. They hosted the Vikings, last week, in the divisional round. San Francisco came out on top 27-10. Garoppolo threw for one touchdown in the victory. The 49ers also got two touchdown runs from running back, Tevin Coleman. 2012 was the last time San Francisco played for a Super Bowl. On that night, the 49ers were beaten 34-31, in Super Bowl 47, by the Baltimore Ravens. The 49ers are tied for third all-time with five Super Bowl as a franchise. A sixth championship would tie the Patriots and Steelers for first all-time. San Francisco hopes a cross country flight is in their future as they play for a spot in Super Bowl 54.

Week 12 recap

These two teams met back in week 12. Likewise, the Packers return to Levi’s Stadium with revenge on their mind. The 49ers won the regular-season matchup 37-8. In the win, Garoppolo threw for two touchdowns. On the contrary, Rodgers accounted for the only Packers touchdown when he found Davante Adams in the end zone. Despite the score, the 49ers answered with 14 straight points and won going away. Green Bay hopes history does not repeat itself, while the 49ers hope lightning will strike again. Both quarterbacks hope to take center stage and lead their respective teams to victory.

NFC Championship History

The Packers are playing in their eighth NFC Championship. Green Bay holds a 3-4 record. The Packers triumphed in 1996, 1997, and 2010. Two of those NFC titles resulted in a Super Bowl win as well. The losses for Green Bay came in 1995, 2007, 2014, and 2016. The 49ers are appearing in a league-leading 16th NFC Championship. San Francisco holds a record of 6-9. The 49ers won three NFC titles in the 1980s. They also won the NFC in 1994 and 2012. San Francisco lost twice in the 1970s, once in the 1980s, four times in the 1990s, and lost in 2011 and 2013. Both franchises have a rich history when it comes to the NFC Championship game. Which team will add to their legacy? Tune in Sunday afternoon at 5:40 central time on Fox to see who joins the AFC Champion in Super Bowl 54.

Image result for george halas trophy
Photo courtesy of

Firstly, follow me on Twitter for more great content. Secondly, discuss this and everything to do with sports at the Overtime Heroics forums. Lastly, new designs are dropping in our merch store. Be sure to check out the latest threads.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here