NASCAR iRacing: Timmy Hill’s Late Effort Secures Win at Texas Motor Speedway

Timmy Hill (66) edges out Ryan Preece (37) to win the NASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series Sunday at Texas Motor Speedway. (NASCAR/Twitter photo)

Timmy Hill won the second event Sunday in the NASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series race at a virtual Texas Motor Speedway.

Hill took advantage of a late bump-and-run with three laps remaining to take the lead from William Byron. He would hold off fellow NASCAR Cup Series drivers Ryan Preece and Garrett Smithley for the win in the O’Reilly Auto Parts 125.

“I couldn’t be more excited,” Hill told reporters after the race. “Very exciting times for us because we just don’t get the recognition on a normal basis. To be on an even playing field is excellent. To be on this platform, the Cup platform, is exciting. The amount of folks that reached out to me has just been tremendous.”

“The last lap was just one I will definitely remember for a while,” Hill adds.

With the current season temporarily halted due to the COVID-19 epidemic, NASCAR has decided to run with its new normal as a result.

With four events suspended so far in the 2020 season, NASCAR officials decided to hold another virtual event. The decision followed as a result of a successful debut on FS1. Additionally, the debut iRacing event at a virtual Miami-Homestead Speedway would result in a Denny Hamlin win.

Just Another iRacing NASCAR Circuit Win For Hill

Hill’s win Sunday marks his 674th career win on the iRacing, a subscription-based racing platform. Participants can race if they have a computer connected to the Internet, a computer monitor, steering wheel, driver’s seat and pedals.

Hill is currently considered one of the top competitors on the platform.

Top Five

Byron, driver of the #24 car for Hendrick Motorsports, led 80 laps before the bump-and-run late in the race. As a result, Byron would fall to seventh. Additionally, rounding out the top five were Hill, Preece, Smithley, Landon Cassill and Alex Bowman.

Full Results

11066Timmy HillToyota9Running
2737Ryan PreeceChevrolet8Running
31251Garrett SmithleyChevrolet0Running
4589Landon CassillChevrolet0Running
52088Alex BowmanChevrolet0Running
628Dale Earnhardt Jr.Chevrolet14Running
7124William ByronChevrolet80Running
8338John H NemechekFord10Running
92742Kyle LarsonChevrolet0Running
10301Kurt BuschChevrolet0Running
111514Clint BowyerFord0Running
12477Parker KligermanToyota0Running
13619Bobby LabonteToyota0Running
141134Michael McDowellFord4Running
151621Matt DiBenedettoFord0Running
162413Ty DillonChevrolet0Running
171918Kyle BuschToyota0Running
181817Chris BuescherFord0Running
192548Jimmie JohnsonChevrolet0Running
20289Chase ElliottChevrolet1Running
212220Erik JonesToyota0Running
22336Ross ChastainFord0Running
233147Ricky Stenhouse Jr.Chevrolet0Running
241711Denny HamlinToyota3Running
252943Bubba WallaceChevrolet0Running
263290Alex LabbeChevrolet0Running
272612Ryan BlaneyFord0Running
281331Tyler ReddickChevrolet0Running
2983Austin DillonChevrolet0Running
303445Ty MajeskiChevrolet1Running
312127Ruben Garcia Jr.Ford0Running
323516Greg BiffleFord0Running
33996Daniel SuarezToyota0Disqualified
341495Christopher BellToyota0Disconnected
352333Anthony AlfredoChevrolet0Disconnected

Follow me on Twitter at @JakeLeonardWPMD and follow us @OT_Heroics for more great content!

Be sure to check out the Overtime Heroics Forums page to join in on the discussion!

Check out our partners at Repp Sports! They offer the first-ever crowd-sourced, no carb, no sugar, energy drink called RAZE and much more! Use the link above or add the promo code OTH1 for 30% off at checkout!

This article was previously published on Heartland Newsfeed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here