MLB Roberto Clemente Award Nominees


The MLB has announced the Roberto Clemente Award Nominees. Last year, Carlos Carrasco won the award after battling leukemia, returning to pitch, and helping his home country of Venezuela. MLB Roberto Clemente award nominees are those who are exemplary on and off the field.

History of the Award

The Roberto Clemente Award is named after 15-time All-Star Roberto Clemente. Tragically, his life was cut short when his plane crashed on December 31, 1972, on his way to provide support to earthquake victims in Nicaragua. In 1973, the award known as the Commissioner’s Award was changed to reflect the legacy of Roberto Clemente. Since then, one player from each team has received the award.

In 2002, the league chose September 9 as Roberto Clemente Day. Ever since 2000, the John Hancock Financial Services has donated $25,000 to the charity of choice. In addition, they donate $30,000 to Roberto Clemente Sports City in Puerto Rico.


The nominees for this prestigious award are:

Eduardo Escobar

Freddie Freeman

Hanser Alberto

Mitch Moreland

Jason Heyward

Tim Anderson

Tucker Barnhard

Brad Hand

Ian Desmond

Miguel Cabrera

Alex Bregman

Ian Kennedy

Mike Trout

Justin Turner

Miguel Rojas

Brent Suter

Nelson Cruz

Steven Matz

Giancarlo Stanton

Tony Kemp

Aaron Nola

Josh Bell

Drew Pomeranz

Hunter Pence

Dee Strange-Gordon

Adam Wainwright

Charlie Morton

Shin-Soo Choo

Danny Jansen

Sean Doolittle

Fans are able to vote for the winner of the award here.

Have a baseball lover that you need to get a gift for? Check out our partner at Dugout Mugs! Create a personalized mug made out of the barrel of a bat. Great for any baseball fan, or, let’s be honest, yourself!

Follow me on Twitter @nicholas_skeen. Check us out at OT Heroics MLB Facebook. Follow us on Instagram @overtimeheroics_MLB. Become part of the conversation on our forum page. We’ll see you there!!!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here