Happy 100th Birthday NFL!


The History of the NFL

It’s hard to believe that 100 years ago, the National Football League was born. On September 17, 1920, in Canton, Ohio featured representatives from teams from four different states: Akron, Canton, Cleveland, and Dayton from Ohio; the Hammond Pros and Muncie Flyers from Indiana; the Rochester Jeffersons from New York; and the Rock Island Independents, Decatur Staleys, and Racine (Chicago) Cardinals from Illinois).

The integral season started on September 26, 1920, with a 13-week regular season. After the season, the league did not hold a postseason to declare a champion. They didn’t even keep standings like we do today. Instead, after the season, the league held a special meeting to declare a champion. The members of the American Professional Football Association (APFA), now the NFL, declared the Akron Pros the first champions with a record of 8-0-3 (8 wins, 0 losses, and 3 ties). Yes, there were ties back then.

Celebration at Halftime

 At halftime of the Cincinnati Bengals-Cleveland Browns game, the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the entire Canton, Ohio community celebrated the NFL’s 100th birthday in the city where the league was born. The celebration included the dedication of Centennial Plaza in downtown Canton and the unveiling of pylons honoring the nearly 26,000 who competed in the NFL during the first century. The new football destination, Centennial Plaza, will be a must-see for all fans traveling to Canton. 

Follow me on Twitter, @Chris_Mabry93 for more of my content and follow @OT_Heroics!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here