MLB History: 1990s MVP Team

Image for MLB History: 1990s MVP Team

The 1990s had some of the best talent in MLB History step onto the diamond. Some of the most renowned players that we know and love today came from the ’90s. Some of the most electrifying players in MLB history have come from this era. A lot of these players are fan favorites for lifelong fans across the country. In the following article, a lineup has been prepared based upon the Most Valuable Players in the 1990s.

MLB History: 1999 Ivan Rodriguez

Ivan Rodriguez was the MVP in 1999. The Rangers catcher made the league know how dangerous he was, showing his dominance in the batter’s box and behind the plate. Also known as Pudge, Rodriguez batted a .332 batting average, an on-base percentage of .356, and a slugging percentage of .558. In addition, he had 35 home runs and 113 RBIs. In addition to winning the American League MVP, Rodriguez won a Silver Slugger award and a Gold Glove. 

MLB History: 1994 Jeff Bagwell

At first base is Jeff Bagwell of the Houston Astros. The 1994 MVP was very dominant at the plate this season for Houston. He batted a career-high, .368 batting average, a career-high slugging percentage of .750, and an on-base percentage of .451. He hit a total of 39 home runs and 116 RBIs. He also had a Silver Slugger and a Gold Glove award. Bagwell put fear in the hearts of opposing clubs in the 1994 season.

MLB History: 1991 Cal Ripken Jr.

At second base is Cal Ripken Jr. Unfortunately there weren’t any second baseman in the ’90s that won an MVP, so for the sake of making a lineup, Ripken would be playing second. Also known as the Iron Man, the Orioles legend won the MVP in 1991. He had a .323 batting average, a .374 on-base percentage, and a .566 slugging percentage. He hit a total of 34 home runs and 114 RBIs. With a Gold Glove and a Silver Slugger this season, the Iron Man was surely dominant in every game in the 1991 season. 

MLB History: 1995 Barry Larkin

At shortstop is Barry Larkin. The Cincinnati Reds shortstop was playing at an elite level in every aspect of the game in 1995. During this season he posted a .319 batting average, .394 on-base percentage, and a .492 slugging percentage. He hit 15 home runs, 66 RBIs. In addition, he stole 51 bases during the 1995 campaign. Barry Larkin also won a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger award during this season. Larkin did it all in ’95 and it shows with the MVP that he won that year.

MLB History: 1999 Chipper Jones

At third base is Chipper Jones. The Atlanta Braves third baseman won the MVP in the year 1999. Chipper Jones will always be remembered as one of the greats in Braves history, and this 1999 campaign added onto his Atlanta legacy. During this season, Jones batted a .319 average, .441 on-base percentage, and a .633 slugging percentage. To go along with those stats, Chipper also hit 45 home runs and a total of 110 RBIs. In 1999, Chipper also added a Silver Slugger to his list of awards that season. This was some of the best play that the MLB has seen from Chipper Jones. This is just one reason why he will always be remembered as a Braves legend.

MLB History: 1993 Barry Bonds

In left field would be Barry Bonds. He won the MVP a total of seven times throughout his career and in 1993 just one of the times that he brought home the award. The San Francisco Giants legend had a monstrous 1993 season. He hit for a .336 batting average, .458 on-base percentage, and a .677 slugging percentage.

In addition, Bonds hit 46 home runs, 123 RBIs and stole a total of 29 bases that season. He also won a Silver Slugger and a Gold Glove that season. This would be the third time that Bonds won an MVP award and it never stopped there, he would then proceed to win the award four more times throughout the rest of his career. 1993 was still one of Bonds’ more impressive seasons.

MLB History: 1997 Ken Griffey Jr.

Standing out in center would be Seattle Mariners legend, Ken Griffey Jr. Griffey was one of the most electrifying and fun-loving players to ever step foot on the diamond. Also known as “The Kid”, Griffey would never shy away from big moments as he always brought excitement to the game. In 1997, he was at his best. Griffey won the 1997 MVP with a .304 batting average, .382 on-base percentage, and a slugging percentage of .646. Griffey also had 56 home runs and 147 RBIs. While also bringing home a Silver Slugger and a Gold Glove, Griffey was more exciting to watch than any other player that was playing at the time, and in 1997 he showed why.

MLB History: 1998 Sammy Sosa

Finishing off the lineup, in right field is Sammy Sosa. The power-hitting outfielder was a must-watch during his tenure in the 90s. There was not a single ball that Sammy couldn’t hit out of the park. While he was having home run battles with Mark McGuire, Sosa was constantly showing the league the amount of power he bestowed in his bat. During the 1998 season, Sammy batted a .308 average, .377 on-base percentage, and a .647 slugging percentage. To go along with that he had a total of 66 home runs and a total of 158 RBIs. Even with the controversy that surrounds Sosa today, this is still one of the most impressive MVP stat lines in MLB history.

Follow me on Twitter at @JohnNevins15 for more of my content! Don’t forget to join our OT Heroics MLB Facebook group, and feel free to join our new Instagram – @overtimeheroics_MLB. We’ll see ya there!

Come join the discussion made by the fans at the Overtime Heroics forums! A place for all sports!

Main image credit: Embed from Getty Images

Share this article

1 comment

Comments are closed.