• US States

Explore sports news

17 min read

2022 NFL Pro Bowl Player Review

This past December the National Football league announced the rosters for their 2022 Pro-Bowl squad. The league this year featured a palpable amount of equity across all divisions, and that is reflected in the roster for this year’s Pro Bowl. The 88 players who earned the prestigious opportunity for football, fun, and fellowship were selected by a process of consensus amongst online fan voting, as well as from coaches and players in the league. Amongst the players selected 31 will be playing in their first Pro-Bowl. 

The game will be televised on ESPN and ABC on Sunday, Feb. 6th at 3 PM ET. In 2016 the NFL hosted their final Pro Bowl in their habitual home field in Hawaii at Aloha Stadium. Since then it has only been held at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida. The 2021 Pro Bowl was canceled due to complications within the league regarding the pandemic of the COVID-19 virus. This year’s game is taking place at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas, the home of the Raiders who are only being represented by one player this year: middle linebacker Denzel Perryman, who is competing in the first Pro Bowl of his career. 

The AFC dominated the selections this year with the Indianapolis Colts garnering seven selections from their team, and the Los Angeles Chargers and Kansas City Chiefs both earning six. Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady broke the shared record of 14 selections with number 15 coming late last year. Edging out elite players such as Tony Gonzales, Peyton Manning, Bruce Matthews, and Merlin Olsen; who each made 14 teams. 

Four rookie players were chosen to participate in their first Pro-Bowl. Ja’Marr Chase (WR-Cincinnati Bengals), Micah Parsons (ILB-Dallas Cowboys), Rashawn Slater (OT-Los Angeles Chargers), and Kyle Pitts (TE-Atlanta Falcons). Each player showed exceptional skills this year and has affirmed their respective organization’s belief in their ability to lead them to the promised land. Chase and Pitts are both being considered for the coveted Offensive Rookie of the Year awards before the season concludes. Parsons has Defensive Rookie of the Year solidly secured with his violent play on the edge and up the middle for the Dallas Cowboys this year. Slater held his own against many of the premier pass rushers in the AFC West and protected their franchise quarterback Justin Herbert, who also earned a nod to this year’s game in Las Vegas on February 6th.  

Let’s take a look at this year’s squad by position. 

Offense – AFC

*Denotes starter


Running backs

Wide receivers

Tight ends

Offensive tackles

Offensive guards



Patrick Ricard, Baltimore Ravens

Defense – AFC

*Denotes starter

Defensive end (3)

  • Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns*
  • Maxx Crosby, Las Vegas Raiders*
  • Trey Hendrickson, Cincinnati Bengals

Interior linemen (3)

  • DeForest Buckner, Indianapolis Colts*
  • Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs*
  • Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh Steelers

Outside linebacker (3)

  • T.J. Watt, Pittsburgh Steelers*
  • Joey Bosa, Los Angeles Chargers*
  • Matt Judon, New England Patriots

Inside/Middle linebacker (2)

  • Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts*
  • Denzel Perryman, Las Vegas Raiders

Cornerback (4)

  • J.C. Jackson, New England Patriots*
  • Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins*
  • Denzel Ward, Cleveland Browns
  • Kenny Moore II, Indianapolis Colts

Free safety (1)

  • Kevin Byard, Tennessee Titans*

Strong safety (2)

  • Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers*
  • Tyrann Mathieu, Kansas City Chiefs

Special Teams – AFC

*Denotes starter

Long snapper (1)

  • Luke Rhodes, Indianapolis Colts*

Punter (1)

  • A.J. Cole, Las Vegas Raiders*

Placekicker (1)

  • Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens

Return specialist (1)

  • Devin Duvernay, Baltimore Ravens

Special teamer (1)

  • Matthew Slater, New England Patriots


*Denotes starter

Quarterback (3)

  • Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers*
  • Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Kyler Murray, Arizona Cardinals

Running back (3)

  • Dalvin Cook, Minnesota Vikings*
  • James Conner, Arizona Cardinals
  • Alvin Kamara, New Orleans Saints

Wide receiver (5)

  • Cooper Kupp, Los Angeles Rams*
  • Davante Adams, Green Bay Packers*
  • Justin Jefferson, Minnesota Vikings
  • Deebo Samuel, San Francisco 49ers
  • Mike Evans, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (replaces Adams)

Tight end (2)

  • George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers*
  • Kyle Pitts, Atlanta Falcons

Offensive tackle (4)

  • Trent Williams, San Francisco 49ers*
  • Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay Buccaneers*
  • Tyron Smith, Dallas Cowboys
  • Brian O’Neill, Minnesota Vikings (replaces Wirfs)

Offensive guard (3)

  • Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys*
  • Brandon Scherff, Washington Football Team*
  • Ali Marpet, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Center (2)

  • Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles*
  • Ryan Jensen, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Fullback (1)

  • Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco 49ers*


*Denotes starter

Defensive end (3)

  • Nick Bosa, San Francisco 49ers*
  • Brian Burns, Carolina Panthers*
  • Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints

Interior linemen (4)

  • Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams*
  • Jonathan Allen, Washington Football Team*
  • Kenny Clark, Green Bay Packers
  • Javon Hargrave, Philadelphia Eagles (replaces Clark)

Outside linebacker (3)

  • Chandler Jones, Arizona Cardinals*
  • Robert Quinn, Chicago Bears*
  • Shaquil Barrett, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Inside/Middle linebacker (3)

  • Micah Parsons, Dallas Cowboys*
  • Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks
  • Devin White, Tampa Bay Buccaneers (replaces Wagner)

Cornerback (4)

  • Trevon Diggs , Dallas Cowboys*
  • Jalen Ramsey, Los Angeles Rams*
  • Darius Slay, Philadelphia Eagles
  • Marshon Lattimore, New Orleans Saints

Free safety (2)

  • Quandre Diggs, Seattle Seahawks*
  • Antoine Winfield Jr., Tampa Bay Buccaneers (replaces Diggs)

Strong safety (2)

  • Budda Baker, Arizona Cardinals*
  • Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings

Special teams

*Denotes starter

Long snapper (1)

  • Josh Harris, Atlanta Falcons*

Punter (1)

  • Bryan Anger, Dallas Cowboys*

Placekicker (1)

  • Matt Gay, Los Angeles Rams*

Return specialist (1)

  • Jakeem Grant, Chicago Bears*

Special teamer (1)

  • J.T. Gray, New Orleans Saints*

LAS VEGAS, NV – JANUARY 9: Signs along with the Las Vegas Strip point the direction for pedestrians to an Interstate 15 overpass where fans can safely enter Allegiant Stadium, home of the NFL’s Las Vegas Raider on January 9, 2022, in Las Vegas, Nevada. Located on 62 acres adjacent to Interstate 15 and west of the Mandalay Bay and Luxor Hotel & Casinos, the recently completed $1.9 billion domed stadium (actually located in Paradise, Nevada) has become a hit with Raiders fans. It is not only the home of the National Football League Las Vegas Raiders but also the UNLV Rebels football team of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) and will be home to Super Bowl LVIII (2024). (Photo by George Rose/Getty Images)

Main Image Credit

Thanks for reading my article on the state of the Miami Dolphins. For more great content follow my Twitter: @_coltonlittle_ and follow @OTH_Football and @OT_Heroics!

Don’t forget to check out the OTH Football Podcast on both Spotify and Youtube!

Subscribe to our newsletter

Receive the latest sports news, exclusive stories, and updates. Stay Up-to-Date!