The NBA’s Criteria for Picking the Most Valuable Player

Image for The NBA’s Criteria for Picking the Most Valuable Player

Each year, the National Basketball Association (NBA) gives an award called the Most Valuable Player (MVP) to the player who has done the best in the regular season since the 1955–56 season. The winner is awarded the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, which was named in honor of the first commissioner of the NBA, who served from 1946 to 1963 and was the league’s first president.

The MVP Selection Group

In the past, the Most Valuable Player of the NBA was selected by the league’s players by casting votes. As time went along, the award was at one point determined by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters from throughout the United States and Canada since the 1980–81 season.

Since 2010, supporters have been able to cast one vote for each candidate via online voting. The prize is given to the player who has accrued the greatest number of points. An online sportsbook is available where bets can be placed to determine the season’s most valuable player.

Finding the MVP in the Crowd

The most valuable player on the most successful team is known as the MVP. Alternatively, you’re looking at someone who has done something really remarkable over the course of an 82-game regular season. However, most of the time, it’s the one player most responsible for propelling his club above the preseason forecasts of so-called experts. There is no set way to find the MVP. It could be based on the opinions of other players, advanced analytics, or the eye test.

Who are the MVPs?

To be considered for MVP, a player must demonstrate a high level of personal achievement, as well as team leadership and flashes of brilliance. As long as we keep discussing who the MVP is, the NBA will never give us a clear definition or set of criteria for the award. Every evaluator grades based on their own criteria. This is made easier as there are usually only a few candidates who make a strong case for the prize each season.

To earn the MVP award, your team must nearly always win the conference, if not your division, and win a large number of games. It is usually in the upper 50s, though sometimes in the 60s. In fact, during the previous 25 years, the MVP’s club averaged 62 victories every season. Michael Jordan was the lone exception in 1988 when despite not winning his conference or division, he had a terrific year and won his team win 50 games. Six times in a row, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar was the recipient of the award. It’s also notable that he is the only player to win the award despite his team’s failure to advance to the playoffs in 1975–76. Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James each won the award four times, while Bill Russell and Michael Jordan each won it five times.

When it comes to the NBA’s criteria for selecting the most valuable player, a couple of things are taken into consideration, such as the ability of the player to affect a season, game, and franchise in several ways possible, and not just the amount of points the player is able to score.

Main Image Credit:

Embed from Getty Images

Share this article