The general manager of the New York Mets, Carlos Mendoza, was infuriated during a controversial call that was made during the game against the Chicago Cubs.
After review, there is no blocking on the final play of the game, the call stands, and Pete Alonso is out.
Mets lose 1-0 pic.twitter.com/Fk9NOJIk35
— New York Post Sports (@nypostsports) May 2, 2024
According to the NY Post, “Pete Alonso was thrown out trying to tag up to score a run that would have tied the game on a sacrifice fly in the bottom of the ninth, but a relay throw reached Cubs catcher Miguel Amaya just as Alonso was sliding in.”
Three-time All-Star baseman Pete Alonso’s hand appeared to be far but he was called out by Charlie Ramos, the home plate umpire. Following a protracted review, the ruling was verified, which prompted the Mets manager to come out on the field and he shared some words with crew chief Chad Fairchild.
"That's bulls–t man!"
Mets manager Carlos Mendoza caught on the hot mic after the review on Alonso getting called out at home plate to end game was upheld pic.twitter.com/YjrWmrYG9a
— New York Post Sports (@nypostsports) May 2, 2024
Wednesday's Cubs vs. Mets game ended with a replay review. Pete Alonso, the potential tying run, was thrown out at home.
Mets skipper Carlos Mendoza didn't agree with the call, which led to a hot mic argument between himself and umpire Chad Fairchild.
"That's bullshit." pic.twitter.com/XA13nrtmWJ
— Awful Announcing (@awfulannouncing) May 2, 2024
Mendoza stated to Fairchild, “That’s not legal though. The rule says you cannot stand on home plate without the baseball… That’s b******t, man, that’s b******t.”
Mendoza was later questioned about the cardinal complaint he found with the call, which unfortunately for the Mets went in favor of the Cubs. The Cubs catcher Miguel Amaya should have been found in violation as per the memo that was shared with the coaches and teams during spring training, as per Mendoza.
The manager explained his stance to the reporters, mentioning, according to SNY, “Their interpretation of the rule. It’s one of those, they send out a memo in spring training, what’s legal and what’s illegal. And it’s clearly on that email, that memo that we got, that catchers are not allowed to have their foot on in front of the plate, on top of the plate, they cannot straddle without possession of the baseball. It was very clearly that the guy had his left foot on top of the plate without the baseball. I think they got the wrong call.”
Carlos Mendoza was heated post-game and stated that the umpires clearly got he wrong call and it should have been obstruction stating that the rules are clear.
"It’s clear the guy had his foot on top of the plate with the baseball, I think they clearly got the wrong call."… pic.twitter.com/FUVZNE7M3P
— MetCast (@MetCastPod) May 2, 2024
He further continued, “Without possession of the baseball, he cannot be in front of the plate, straddle the plate, or have his foot on top of the plate. And it was clearly in the replay that that wasn’t the case. He was blocking without possession of the baseball.”
Alonso shared, considering what happened after the call and the Mets losing against the Cubs. He expressed, “That’s really not up for me to decide. I was out. I mean I hustled as hard as I could. I made the best slide I could possibly make. The umpires said I was out, I was out.”
I obtained images from the memo sent out to managers during spring training on blocking the plate. pic.twitter.com/YL6A2qZCvD
— Andy Martino (@martinonyc) May 2, 2024
These are the images from the MLB memo that Carlos Mendoza was referencing, next to how Miguel Amaya was standing at the plate
(via @MartinoNYC) pic.twitter.com/zxISB1PKCp
— Talkin’ Baseball (@TalkinBaseball_) May 2, 2024
The MLB’s replay center’s statement read, “The catcher’s initial setup was legal and he moved into the lane in reaction to the trajectory of the incoming throw. The call is confirmed, as it is not a violation. Additionally, the Replay Official could not definitively determine that the runner contacted home plate prior to catcher applying the tag. The call stands, and the runner is out.”
The Replay Official after reviewing, determined that no violation occurred, of the Home Plate Collision Rule.